Pandaji's Blog

Art, research, education

Treasure Brooches

Leave a comment


brooch7

brooch6

brooch5

brooch4

brooch3

brooch2

brooch1

Inspired by my sister’s brooch made of fishing tackle and various jewellry items, these brooches are mixed media with buttons, found stones, and pipe pieces on safety pins. I made them because IĀ needed to help myself recover after a carpal tunnel release operation on my left hand, and I had been given some putty to squeeze which was ok for strengthening but not for delicate movements. I decided to make these treasure brooches, as fiddly and dry seemed good for the recovering sensation, and my spirit, with the added bonus of using up all those buttons and broken earrings!!

Author: pandaji

Ceramic artist, educator

Leave a Reply

